It’s week 4 back at the shala for me, that makes 9 practices so far this year. It isn’t amazing, but represents progress.

I’m still only practicing up to navasana as my shoulder is still troublesome. I seem to have got over the sharp nervy pain but am faced with a dull ache most of the time which increases throughout practice. Keeping my alignment exact during the vinyasas is a must.

Jumping back in sun salutations still isn’t working for me, but I am trying to work with some gentle jump backs during seated. Where I say jump back, really what I am doing is three staged progression through the arms (bum shuffles!). The boyf did mention last night that my girl muscles were coming back?!! I think really what he meant was that my man arms are coming back! I am looking at that as a good thing though as it means that I am getting my strength back.

I am hoping to try bhujapidasana next month, but am not convinced that my shoulder is strong enough yet. I keep intending to try at home, but have forgotten to do that so far.

The biggest deal for me at the moment, and probably a good lesson in yoga and non-attachment, is not to think too much about where my practice was before the shoulder issues and where it is now. It is hard to get around the mental block I have that my shoulder isn’t going to get better, ever and I will never get past navasana. I ended up discharging myself from the NHS physio. My therapist told me that he thought I needed more regular treatment to see improvement, and the NHS is too overstretched to offer that. He said he would write a letter to my GP for a private referral and I will see if my PHC will cover it. This is a relief to some extent as I never felt that my yoga inflicted injuries were as pressing as those of the poor pensioners with broken hips etc.

Anyway, I’ll keep at the yoga, which in the past seems to have cured my various injuries after a while.

