I went back to the shala today, some addictions are hard to crack πŸ˜‰

All in all it was a good practice. I had a chat with H about the painful hamstring insert and my sore knee. He thinks the hamstring is slightly torn and will take 6 -12 months to heal – he told me I might try acupuncture to help it repair. The knee – probably just inflammation, nothing more serious than that. So, I suppose I am back.

It was actually pretty quiet after the initial rush of people finishing from the early slots and starting at around 7. By the time I finished there couldn’t have been more than 6 people practicing.

Having done quite a few home practices in the last few weeks, I noticed a marked difference in performance through practicing when I have been up for an hour rather than when I just get out of bed. All to be expected, but it makes for a nice change when the sore hamstring actually allows you to put your palms on the floor in the first vinyasa rather than the tentative reaching of the fingertips towards the floor that I have got used to. Generally flexibility was fine, the warmth helps, L got my hands on the floor both ways in prasarita padatonasana C, and I got into Supta K fine too. An encouraging practice to put me back on track. I am stiffer than I used to be, certainly in my back and the QL. I actually found Baddha Konasana was easier to relax into as my muscles are tight enough to form a resistance to my body going into places where the sciatic pain starts. Silly really.

And to make me giggle at the end of practice, someone was gently snoring in the finishing room πŸ˜€

Ahh, I love AYL really.

