I am long overdue a blog post, but just haven’t had the time to create one. Things have been non-stop since my birthday. First there was the birthday party which somehow managed to carry on until dawn and long after and resulted in me finally making it to my bed at 10am for 4 hours of interrupted sleep. Saturday afternoon I did a few chores then went off to a dancing night in South London. I was really too tired to enjoy it and didn’t stay out long. I have begun to find that if I dance at venues where I don’t know the crowd then I get fewer dances. I suppose people prefer to dance with people they know than strangers.

On Sunday I had a manic day, getting up at 6 and going to practice. I had a lusciously easy and relaxed practice that I enjoyed immensely, this was followed by coffee with some of the yogis then V and I went off to watch Quantum of Solace. I really enjoyed the film. As long as you don’t expect a story and are satisfied with a fair bit of action, special effects and a bit of Daniel Craig, then it’s great. I read somewhere that the bond character has been changed into a Matthew Bourne – I am inclined to agree! After the film I did a quick race around Covent Garden to try and buy a top from Reiss with some vouchers I received for my birthday. They didn’t have it in my size, so I settled with a new pair of trousers for one of my work suits. Slightly boring, but still useful. My quest for the top is ongoing and they don’t even have it in my size on their website šŸ˜¦

After shopping I jumped on the bus to Olympia to have a look at the Yoga Show. I was supposed to do this on Saturday with a friend, but the need for some sleep prevented me going. All in all, I wasn’t that impressed and didn’t take any classes, I just wondered around the stalls. At the end of the day I am not inclined to be converted away from Ashtanga at this point in time, so there wasn’t much there for me. Then I dashed home for a short siesta and then went out again for more dancing. It seemed that the Grand Prix was a stronger draw for men than dancing so we had about 3 women to every man, and of the 8 or so men there, only two had any experience at all, so it wasn’t as much fun as it could have been.

Mondays practice was horrible, heavy, stiff and painful and so was Tuesdays. My practice was feeling more like a losing battle. My flat also seems have turned into a time warp and I managed not to get to the shala until nearly 7.45. I don’t understand how it is possible that I get up at the same time but can arrive half an hour later than usual? By Wednesday my piriformis/hip/hamstring pain was so bad that I had to do a short practice, finishing at navasana. To be honest, at the moment the whole practice is just an exercise of pain management. I try not to push myself into anything that hurts, but that means pretty much not pushing into anything at all. My hip feels like it has been bound up by a huge rubber band, there is a tiny bit of give in it if I push it hard enough, but I don’t have the strength to work through it. Yesterday I couldn’t gather the energy to go to the shala at all and had a lie in instead. I do feel a bit like I am loosing my faith at the moment, and my emotions are certainly mixed. I see people who have been practicing for a few months progress where I seem to be going nowhere. I saw a lovely, sweet, girl who I like a lot stand from her backbend for the first time, and it just made me angry. I have been struggling with this for so long. I know it’s not about anyone else’s practice or how quickly I progress in mine, but it still grates me. Bad yogi.

However, despite only getting 6 hours of sleep last night I woke up and felt compelled to get back to the mat. The heaviness and sluggishness of the beginning of the week were gone, but the ongoing pain in pretty much every pose makes the whole thing a bit challenging. I have booked myself in for a session of deep tissue massage with Susan’s masseur next Friday so hopefully this will help. When I get to Sri Lanka I should be able to have a massage treatment every day, which will be bliss.

Generally I feel like I really need this holiday. I love being busy and active, but I feel a bit burned out. I have been out every night this week, and have lots of work to do too. I basically need to get all my work which is due before Christmas sorted out in the next two weeks before I go away. Tomorrow will have to be a day in the office, when what I really need is a day in bed!

