For the last two mornings I have practiced at the Owl shala. It’s Lovely. Of all the shala’s I have practiced in, it is the closest experience to ‘home’ at AYL. Owl’s teacher is great, and so welcoming. I love being a guest in a shala, experiencing a new energy and dynamic, working with different hands. Owl was a wonderful host, and (from what I could see when my driste faltered) soars through her practice in a most Owl like manner!

I got lots more great work on my backbending; today I dropped back into an entirely different backbend, opening much higher in the spine rather than the lumbar. It was a combination of both awe and slight physical panic at being a new place. I guess the warmer weather has helped, plus being able to take my time getting ready for backbending, rather than worrying about getting to work.

On the holiday side, I have had a lovely couple of days. Yesterday I did yoga, followed by brunch at the Urth Cafe, then we hired bikes and cycled along the beach path for miles. Today, after yoga we went to Beverley Hills to indulge my friend, then off to see the Disney concert hall to indulge me. I am now chilling by the pool in the sunshine, catching up on blogs etc. Divine.

Last night we found ourselves unexpectedly at a party in our hotel. Apparently the hotel was reviewed as one of the most hot hotels of 2008 in California by Conde Nast, so there was a bit party with free food and cocktails. All great fun.

I fly home tomorrow night, and wish I had longer to spend here. Tomorrow I hope to get to the Getty, then maybe to Malibu – who knows. I definitely want to come back though; there is so much to see!

