Nothing particular going on here today, I am just enjoying being a bit lazy!! Sunday practice hasn’t happened, but at the moment when I seem to have 5 week days of 17 hour non-stop activity I feel sleeping is my priority at the weekend! Plus I have actually had a social life the last few weekends, so don’t really get to bed that early either!

I had intended to post on Friday as it marked my 1 year anniversary of practicing at AYL. If I could be bothered or had the time I would work out how many practices I have been to, and how many 5 day weeks I have attended. I think that latter is probably about 3 šŸ˜‰ I know that I have only been twice on a Sunday in the last year.

My anniversary practice was nothing exceptional, the shala was busy which is unusual for a Friday at 7.30, but one thing I have learned over the last year is that how busy the shala is on any given day is not something that can be predicted! I ended up getting quite frustrated with the back bending. I really, really, really want it to improve but by the end of my practice I feel tired, sweaty and don’t have a lot of time left, so it is the least ideal part of my practice to be struggling with something. The first backbend I can work with, but after that my spine hurts too much and it is just a matter of enduring 5 breaths in whatever degree of bend can be achieved. Patience….

I sat reading the Sunday papers with my knee bound into half lotus as suggested by Carl. It wasn’t uncomfortable but provided a nice stretch. The real stretch happens when I try and lie back keeping my half lotus on the floor – the entire of my hip/buttock seems to be locked. I now need to find a person (unlikely) or a heavy piece of furniture to place on my lap whilst I stretch backwards!!!

Anyway, I can’t work out how it has got to 6.30 pm and I haven’t done anything constructive, particularly as I have work to do. I am thinking of going for a quick evening stroll, then working in half an hour. The April showers seem to have temporarily subsided…

