I arrived at the shala at 6.10 today, at the same time as two other people, but sadly there were only 2 spaces left and I didn’t get one of them. I have never seen the shala so busy, the finishing room was full of people practising by 6.30, and when I left there were 9 people waiting to start!

My practice was OK, a little stiff, but not as bad as I had anticipated. My left knee is a sore at the moment, just from cycling I think. It doesn’t hurt doing asana, but jumping forwards and back was a little uncomfortable so I had to really focus on taking all the weight in my arms, which didn’t make for a very elegant motion!

I must confess to having evicted drop backs from my practice. Really I am just making excuses…. I will wait until H suggests I do them. I only actually did one backbend today as pushing up hurt my knee – another lame excuse really. I think I will have to practice them in the evenings when my back is warm, just to work on the technique. I feel such a pinch in my lower back doing them at the moment, it’s really unpleasant.

I have a long day ahead of me today, with a rehearsal until 9 which is about an hour away from home… it will be a late night!

